top of page
  • Writer's pictureBunny

SIU Busan Comic World Talkshow

Updated: Jun 24, 2018

[0:00]

Interviewer

Let's welcome SIU now.

Are you all prepared?

Audience

Yeah!!

Interviewer

Very well.

The author of Naver webtoon ToG, SIU!!

[0:30]

Yes, another idol has come to our the Busan Comic World event.

SIU, please have the bouquet. You can put it there.

You have come to the Busan Comic World and met your fans.

Please show us your greeting.

[1:00]

SIU

Hi, I am SIU who is writing the Tower of God.

Interviewer

Let's have a seat and talk.

Please go inside.

[1:30]

Let me move this flower away so we will have a better view to see SIU.

You can just sit comfortably.

Hey guys, you guys are way too excited when he's just taking his coat off.

Sisters, you are being weird.

So, SIU had visited the Seoul Comic World first.

[2:00]

Our audience in the Busan Comic World, had to shed their tears looking at SIU going to the Seoul Comic World.

Because of that, we sincerely asked SIU to come visit Busan.

So despite having a busy schedule, SIU has come all the way to Busan to meet our Busan fans.

[2:30]

So SIU, I believe that you live in Sejong City, what kind of transportation have you used to some to Busan?

SIU

I took KTX.

Interviewer

Oh, I see, you had taken KTX.

By the way SIU, this can be rude since we have just met, but have you ever heard that you kind of look like the footballer, Park Ji-sung?

SIU

I heard it many times in the past.

[3:00]

Interviewer

If Park Ji-sung have rewritten the history of Korean soccer, SIU is rewriting the history of Naver webtoon.

So SIU, you are meeting your fans in the Busan Comic World.

How do you feel?

SIU

I am nervous.

And I did not expect this many to come.

Interviewer

Oh really?

[3:30]

It's been awhile for me to see this many people as well.

All of them, have come to see you, and been waiting for you since 6am. No kidding.

So, among the Busan Comic World fans, there are a lot of middle and high schoolers in the audience.

I am curious, how was your school years?

What kind of student were you when you were attending high school?

[4:00]

SIU

I.. went to art school for the high school.

I had seen various people who are doing arts.

Interviewer

Oh, art high school.

[4:30]

Did you go to the art high school because you like art?

SIU

Yeah, because I liked drawing.

I wasn't so into studying.

Interviewer

I see.

By the way, can you guys see SIU well?

Do you want me to move this flowers?

Gotcha. So I will cover my face instead.

Thank you~

Oh wait, now you guys from that side can't see him?

I was mistaken. I thought you guys were complaining because you could not see my face!

[5:00]

Hahaha!

Now, for SIU, I am curious about how you have become a webtoon writer.

SIU

It wasn't like I was specially preparing to become webtoon writer.

In the beginning, my major was art.

But when I went to the military, my predecessor was someone who was majoring in Manhwa.

He was making comic books in the military.

[5:30]

There is not much to do. Many people usually do their studies in the military, but since I was not interested in studying,

he recommended me to draw Manhwa, instead of spending time studying.

I uploaded some of the Manhwa that I drew that time on the web, and the reaction was quite positive.

[6:00]

Since then, I thought about becoming a webtoon writer.

Interviewer

So you have become a Manhwa writer from your experience of drawing in the military.

What if you had not met that predecessor, what do you think you would have been doing now?

SIU

For college, I went to the college to become a teacher.

So maybe art teacher, I think.

[6:30]

Interviewer

Art teacher, I see.

Have you done your teaching practice as well?

SIU

Yes.

Interviewer

So you had taught kids and stuff.

Those kids who learned from SIU were very lucky, weren't they?

SIU, do you have any other hobby that you are into, besides drawing Manhwa?

[7:00]

SIU

Umm.. nothing that I can call as a hobby.

But since I have been working indoors,

Traveling and stuff, I like to go outside when I have some time.

I actually did not go out much before.

But I have come to like going outside since I started my work.

So now I try to go out whenever I have some time.

Interviewer

I see, so you enjoy going out.

[7:30]

Anyway, since we have you here, you should talk about ToG.

The Tower of God, standing as the #1 in the Monday webtoon ranking, soothing our Monday sickness.

So SIU, personally, what do you think is the contributing factor of the ToG's popularity?

Why is it so popular?

[8:00]

Why do they like this work so much, making it Monday's #1 webtoon?

What do you personally think?

Which part of it is so attractive?

Audience

*shouting*

Interviewer

Haha, let me hear from SIU first.

SIU

Because there are many handsome guys.

Interviewer

Hahahaha, I see, because there are a lot of handsome characters.

[8:30]

SIU

It's hard to find the reason why the readers think that way, since all of the works are very much loved by their authors.

My work just receives a bit more extra love from many others.

I think all the works have something that's best about them.

[9:00]

For my case, I think it's because of the characters' charming looks.

Interviewer

So from your perspective, the reason you can think of is the good lookx.

Then how about you guys?

Why do you love the ToG?

Audience

*shout*

Interviewer

I see, because SIU is handsome.

SIU

What the-

Interviewer

And what else?

Who did you say is attractive?

[9:30]

Who who?

I can't really distinguish the noise.

Hahahaha.

I see, because Khun is handsome?

Who? Who did you say is pretty?

Someone from the audience

Rachel!!

Interviewer

Rachel? Because Rachel is pretty?

Audience

*scream*

SIU

*covers his face from laughing hard*

Interviewer

Hey guys, this guy in the front row, said Rachel is pretty.

Please remember.

Ahahaha.

So, we are curious about how you have come up with this amazing work, the Tower of God.

[1o:00]

From the very beginning.

SIU

It first started with a drawing, a boy climbing an enormous tower.

And somehow it grew on me.

It made me want to draw a boy fighting against big enemies, and trying to do something impossible.

[1o:30]

So I think that's how it began.

Interviewer

Oh, so the one drawing he drew became the start of all.

The Tower of God has a massive amount of settings. So I'm curious, did you plan them all from the beginning? Or are you making them up as you go?

[11:00]

SIU

I already planned out the big general setting. But sometimes it's insufficient, and sometimes I need to rework them so they fit into the plot. It's like half and half.

[11:30]

Interviewer

So he says he already has half of them planned out and revise the other half as he goes.

In the Tower, each floor has a test, a game that you need to pass. Do you come up with all of the games on your own, SIU?

SIU

I do make all of the games by myself.

[12:00]

but first, I decide on the theme, and then make a game that fits into the theme.

It's not the game itself that's important. Game is a mere device that is used to deliver the message. That's how I think about it.

[12:30]

Sometimes the game itself carries out the plot. But I don't think my work is the kind of Manhwa that requires a high level of deduction.

I use games as fun devices to show the characters' personalities and and convey the message of the Manhwa.

Interviewer

So SIU uses games as devices to show the message that he wants to talk about.

[13:00]

There are lots of characters in the Tower of God. I think it's quite a tough job to come up with a name for each every one of them. Do you have your own method of naming them?

SIU

Most of the names come from... footballers?

Interviewer

Do you like football?

SIU

I do like football.

[13:30]

But also, because football is popular all over the globe, the players also have names from all of the globe. I see readers like it a lot when they recognize names from their countries.

At first, I did it for fun. But because of that, now I do it intentionally.

[14:00]

Interviewer

I see. So do you get messages from foreign fans as well? Like a fan letter?

SIU

Like e-mail or SNS...

Interviewer

See guys. We are having a talkshow with a global celebrity.

Since we were just talking about the characters, who's your favorite character, SIU?

[14:30]

Hey, there is a Rachel fan there. Ha ha ha.

SIU

Since Baam is the first character I drew, I am quite fond of Baam and Rachel.

And when I first came up with Khun, I hated him, a lot.

[15:00]

Interviewer

Ha ha, why so?

SIU

Because his concept was kinda a nasty character, so I had to think him that way too.

But as I continued to draw him, he grew on me. So I think I like him as well now.

I mean, I like every one of them.

[15:30]

But for my favorite, I think I have to go with the protagonist, Baam. Since I raised him the most.

Interviewer

So it seems that SIU likes Baam, the protagonist, the most.

Baam has a unique name. Twenty-fifth Baam. Why did you name him that way?

[16:00]

SIU

Since it's due to his past, I can't reveal all the details. But I wanted to make it somewhat mysterious. His birthday, and hidden secrets.

Personally, I like Baam's name a lot.

[16:30]

It suits him. Even though I'm the one who named him, I think I did a good job.

Interviewer

I agree. Twenty-fifth Baam. It's easy to call, Baam. And it sounds mystical and cool.

So SIU, who do you think is the fan favorite?

[17:00]

Looking through internet and comments, which character seems to be popular in your opinion?

Audience

*some shouts Rachel*

SIU

I think they like Rachel a lot..

I think the characters that constantly get loved..

[17:30]

are Khun, Baam, or Yuri.

Among characters from the past, Hatsu.

I think readers like characters that suit their tastes, rather than to say there is one character that gets all the love. I see people liking different characters.

[18:00]

So I don't want to hurt their feelings by saying which one is specifically popular.

Interviewer

Makes sense. They all have different distinct characteristics, so people probably have their own reasons for liking a character.

So to people sitting here, who's your favorite?

Audience

*shouts out their favorites*

Interviewer

I get it I get it. So that side likes Rachel. And you like Baam.

[18:30]

Khun. Why do you like Khun?

Audience

*screams*

Interviewer

Ah, because he's handsome.

Who else?

I see I see. So you guys like those kind of characters. Ha ha ha

So SIU, you talk with fans a lot, through fan cafe and blog. Do you also read comments?

[19:00]

SIU

It's hard to read all of them. And especially during hiatus, I don't want to read them.

I also tend to get swayed by them if I read the comments while working.

So I prefer to binge, rather than to receive immediate feedbacks. I wait until the plot has been progressed to a certain point that I had in mind,

[19:30]

and then binge read the comments. That way I can see how did the readers think about it.

Before, I used to check all the comments like an attention-seeker. But now I have my own know-how.

[20:00]

Interviewer

I see. Was their any memorable comment you remember?

SIU

When I was still a college student, one of the readers had a baby, and sent me a picture. The view count got doubled.

Interviewer

Haha. Is there anyone else?

[20:30]

SIU

There are a lot of them. I sometimes go to the fan cafe and leave my personal comments. I still remember many of them.

And even if I can't talk to them too often, sometime I get unexpected messages from people that I have previously contacted with. Like they got into school or they are going somewhere special that day.

[21:00]

Those messages assure me that I'm doing a good job. So I remember all of them.

Interviewer

Was there a moment that made you feel proud of yourself for becoming a webtoon author?

SIU

When my friends were leaving their houses for work..?

[21:30]

Interviewer

When other people were leaving their houses for work?

SIU

... I'm kidding.

To be honest, I enjoy drawing Manhwa. I do think it's a tough job, but if I was working on some other tough job, I wouldn't have been able to do this much.

[22:00]

When I feel that I can do it more, it makes me realize how much I love my job. So I can continue to endure the tough work. Moments like that make me happy.

Interviewer

You really do look happy working something that you have passion for.

And there is another thing that's been keeping you quite busy these days. The Tower of God's mobile game is out.

[22:30]

Did you guys play the game?

Audience

*shouts yes*

Interviewer

As I expected. Did you play the Tower of God's mobile game too, SIU?

SIU

Yes.

Interviewer

There are many people here who have played the game already, but there are also many people here who haven't yet. Would you mind promoting the game yourself, SIU?

How was it when you played it?

SIU

It's the Tower of God's game.

[23:00]

You can download it on Google.

You can find it on result if you search for the Tower of God's game.

I played it too. I spent about 40,000 to 50,000 won. (* $40-$50)

Interviewer

Oh, you even paid for it.

SIU

But I couldn't get the character I want.

[23:30]

I ended up contacting the company.

Interviewer

Hahaha. So who is that character you wanted so bad?

Audience

*people shouting random names*

SIU

I... wanted to get everyone.

Interviewer

Oh-, it looks like there is a character that SIU really loves, but he does not want to hurt other fans' feeling who aren't a fan of that character.

[24:00]

SIU

If the illustration is pretty, I want to get it.

Interviewer

I have a hunch that it was a female character.

Audience

*someone shouts Rachel*

Interviewer

Ha ha, SIU says it wasn't Rachel.

Audience

*someone shouts Yuri*

Interviewer

Yuri?

Oh by the way SIU, one of the fans asked why Yuri isn't showing up as of late.

[24:30]

They were hoping to see Yuri more. What do you think? Is Yuri going to have more screen time in the future?

SIU

She will have more time as the plot progresses. I think she will be on this episode too.

Interviewer

Oh so the episode on this coming Monday. Just wait for two more days guys.

Audience

*cheers*

Interviewer

By the way SIU, I, personally think Urek Mazino is so bad ass.

[25:00]

When will he be appearing again?

SIU

It's difficult to draw him.

Interviewer

Ahahahaha.

SIU

Even the tattoo, I regretted drawing it. I was planning to not show his back later, but readers like seeing it.

Interviewer

Yes, it's true. Men speak with their backs.

[25:30]

SIU

If my techniques improve, I think I will just copy and paste it. So you can see him more often.

Interviewer

I see, I will look forward to that.

SIU, six years have passed since you started your career, and the Tower of God.

The audience here probably wants it to go forever, so how far are we one the progress? How much of it is left?

[26:00]

Would it be like One Piece?

SIU

I think as long as the readers desire for it, the story can easily be extended. I will carry out other elements along the way as well.

[26:30]

So I think, even if it gets long, the story won't be repetitive. Because of that, I have no clue when is it going to end.

There are a lot of things that I want to draw, but of course I can't draw them all. At the end I have to find the good middle ground.


[0:00]

Interviewer

I bet there are many people here who want to be webtoon authors. Raise your hand if you are.

Yeah, I see many hands out there. SIU, would you provide an advice for the future generation of webtoon authors?

SIU

I think, among webtoon readers,

[o:30]

there are more people who used to not read comics, than people who used to read comics.

Because of that, you have more freedom to express yourself.

[1:00]

It feels good to draw Manhwa, but there are so many of them who draw it.

If you want to work as a Manhwa author, you have to figure out how to survive in that field, and how to start your career, etc.

These times can be tough, so you have to find something that can keep you going.

[1:30]

I think it's important to have your own Manhwa, and your own identity.

Build your experience, have a lot of fun, and read lots of books. Whatever it is, do many things you enjoy, and I think that's a better way for you to prepare your career than to solely drawing Manhwa.

[2:00]

Interviewer

I hope that was a valuable lesson for people who want to be webtoon authors.

So with that, the talkshow is over.

I get you guys. I kind of rushed because SIU is busy with his schedule as well.

Since it's too bad to let webtoon authors who have come all the way to Busan leave like this, I am trying to make them stay as long as I can.

[2:30]

So you guys, do you have any more question?

Audience

*shouts yes*

Interviewer

So, the blue hair over there. There are three Tower of God cosplayers who came to meet SIU.

Which question are you so eager to ask?

Audience

*asks when will Hatsu appear again*

Interviewer

Hatsu? When will he appear again?

SIU

I forgot who he is...

Interviewer

Hahaha

[3:00]

SIU

I'm trying to save some characters for future, and trying to figure out in which part of the plot will the characters shine the most.

But since there is a long way to go, I am trying to come up with some other stories and stuffs as well.

[3:30]

But since I have been way too busy, I couldn't prepare for it. Once the current arc is over, I think I will have more breathing room to think about it.

Interviewer

I think you guys have to wait a long time then. Please wait with your love.

I see there is another person who likes Rachel.

[4:00]

SIU, did you expect Rachel to receive so much hate?

SIU

No, I didn't. Personally, I really like drawing Rachel. It's easy to draw her. She is quite honest with her feelings, too.

[4:30]

Those sides of hers might make some people uncomfortable.

Love and hatred? I think those are necessary emotions as well.

Interviewer

I see, hope you guys look at Rachel with more love, haha.

206 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SIU Seoul Comic World Talkshow

Video [0:00] Interviewer Let us introduce you The bouquet is coming up. Thank you. Would you look at the front? [0:30] I think they want to see your face. Do you think there would be this much reactio

bottom of page